Help and learning

We’re ready to help!

How do I participate in a poll?

In order to participate in a poll, you need to have been invited by the organiser of the poll. If you have access to the poll, simply click on the link you got from the organiser. 

When you open the poll you will see all the important information of the poll: 

- What is the occasion?
- Who created this poll? 
- What is the location of the event (optional) 
- Some notes from the organiser (optional) 
- All the options that are available for you to choose 
- The participants that already voted (if someone did, and if the poll is not a hidden poll) 

You can view and participate in the poll in 3 ways: table viewcalendar view and list view (mobile version only) 

Table view

In this view, you can see all entries of the participants and all options of the poll simultaneously in a matrix. Here you can get a good overview of which options already have the most votes and who has already taken part in the poll. You can participate here or if you already did that, you can edit your participation or even delete it if necessary (read more here). Fill in your name – if you are logged into your account this will auto-fill for you –, and select the options that fit your schedule. Your votes will be saved with Send. If you are not available on any of the dates, simply do not select any options, and save with "Send - cannot attend"

Automatically filled out participation

Did you register with Doodle and connect your calendar? This makes participation even faster. Doodle will automatically preselect the options, and after you have checked the selection, you can just save your participation with "send". With a connected calendar, this feature cannot be disabled. No worries - the votes will not count until your select "Send"

Participate for others

Do you want to participate in a poll for a colleague or someone else? Here on the table view you can easily add new participants to the poll, and change or delete existing participant rows (if they did not vote from a Doodle account) Hover you mouse over the name to see the edit pen. Please be very careful when doing such actions, so that you do not accidentally edit or delete the wrong entry - unfortunately deleted/edited votes cannot be restored. Therefore, always make sure that everything is correct before you take any action, and only confirm when everything is correct. The other participants and the poll creator will be very grateful.

817053.png


Calendar View

We highly recommend this view, when you have connected your calendar to Doodle. Here you will not see other people's participation, but all your existing events from your calendar will be shown to you. This way, you keep the overview and there will be no clashes of appointments. You save yourself a lot of time and nerves by not having to shift between Doodle and your personal calendar. 

Review the proposed options

If you arrive on the calendar view, the week that contains the first option in the poll, will be displayed. You may need to scroll up or down a bit to see the suggested times. Click on the icon on the right side, to go to the next week. If you have connected your calendar to Doodle, we will pre-select all the options that are not in conflict with any existing calendar entries - this will save you time. Nevertheless, we recommend going through all the options and double-check if they are selected right.

If you have more than one calendar connected, or you have several calendars within your connected calendar, click on "calendars" in the lower left corner, and select which availabilities you want to see reflected in the calendar view. 

If more poll options are available in another week, this will be indicated by a blue icon on the right side of the window. A click on it will take you to the corresponding week with the next option. Please be sure that you went through all the options in the poll before you confirm your entry with Send at the bottom of the page.


List View

Are you using Doodle with your mobile phone? Then you will see, by default, the List view, where all poll options are displayed below one another. You can go through all suggested options and vote for them. Tap on an option to select it or leave it open if the option does not work for you. Select all options that work for you and tap "Send" to save your votes. For an even better experience with your mobile phone, download or free Doodle app for IOS and Android. 

 

822159.png

Stay tuned with notifications

As the poll organiser, you will be notified by email each time someone participated in your poll. With the Doodle app installed, you can switch to push notifications or you can choose both, emails and push notifications, if you use Doodle in the browser and the app. Download the Doodle app to activate push notifications.

If you are not the poll organiser, but you are logged into a Doodle account, you can decide if you would like to get notified about all changes made in a poll you just voted in select to subscribe to update directly in the poll. Read more here
 

Thanks for participating!

The poll creator will be particularly pleased now because you are one step further in finding the best date for all participants in this poll. Great job!

Next, all other people invited to participate will also take part in the poll. Once the poll creator has collected all participants, he/she will select the final option(s) and close the poll. She/he will be happy to inform you about the results of the poll!

Do you want to create your own poll? We'll show you how it works!

Was this article helpful?

Please help us improve the experience by rating this article

thumb_down
thumb_up
182 out of 613 found this helpful
Return to top

Comments

Article is closed for comments.